A Ritual To Read To Each Other – William Stafford

If you don’t know the kind of person I am

And I don’t know the kind of person you are

A pattern that others made may prevail in the world

And following the wrong god home we may miss our star.

This is just a part of the poem, it is very intriguing and thought-provoking, I would recommend it to anyone.

I really like this section of the poem; ultimately it is talking about how the majority of the world blindly follows without seeking the truth. I find it very important to know for myself the things that I believe in, and this isn’t always the popular choice among peers, friends and even family. Some may see it as, I have fallen off the deep end, or that my faith isn’t strong enough. When in reality I am just becoming a stronger person by truly knowing what I believe in is right. This can be related to being accountable, from the Society of Professional Journalists’ code of ethics. I like to think of life as a test, and in this test we must find answers and know and believe in them. When we blindly follow another’s opinion, or test answer, without pondering why they feel that way, we are cheating. Don’t procrastinate on your test either, you must always progress, without it you will fail.

Leave a Reply

