Progression

This time last year I was a second semester sophomore who changed her major from recreation management to communication (emphasis public relations). From the most leisurely career to one of the most stressful. Honestly, at that time I didn’t even know what public relations was!

The growth that I see in myself from just a years worth of time is almost immaculate. Of course I’m not perfect, nor will I ever be, but the fact that a person can grown so much has me in awe. A year ago today I would never picture myself in the position I’m in.

I have great professors, mentors, friends and family to thank for their all their love and support. I have wonderful experiences with I~Comm, PRSSA, and my internship at OpenBook to be grateful towards for the leadership and learning opportunities they give me. Most importantly I have the Lord to thank. For giving me these talents and opportunities, but above all, for giving me this passion. I never knew what it felt like to love something so much that you want to spend all your free time focusing on it and perfecting it.

I love what I am studying and the experiences I have gained so far. I am scared out of my mind to be graduating in April (thanks to the wonderful fastgrad program) but I also can’t wait to further my knowledge. If I can grow as much as I have within the past year, I can’t imagine what I’ll be like in 5 or 10. I love this chapter of my life, and it has only just begun.

Leave a Reply

