Week 6 Photography: Bannack Portraits

GirlBefore

Before

Girl

After

PurpleBefore

Before

Purple

After

GunBefore

Before

Gun

After

 1. Damsel: 2/14/13; 2: 02 pm; Bannack Ghost Town, WY; f 5.6; 1/25; Cannon T3i

2.  Damsel: 2/14/13; 2:05 pm; Bannack Ghost Town, WY; f 5.6; 1/32; Cannon T3i

3.  Genuine Character; 2/14/13; 2:11 pm; Bannack Ghost Town, WY; f 5.6; 1/200; Cannon T3i

As you can see between the first and second photo I played around with the coloring. There was natural light coming in on her right side from windows which cause some areas of white or lighter colors to be blown out, especially the lace on her dress. I used the selection tool to choose areas that were blown out and then I used the color burn tool to darken the area. I also put a slight blur on her background and used the color burn to bring out the coloring on the wood.

I love how the last photo turned out. The model had been in between poses when I caught this, I love how genuine his expression is. I wanted to bring out the coloring on this photo since there are so many rich colors. I again used the selection tool to highlight just the background and then used the color burn tool on 5-15%. Then I inveresed the selection and used the color burn on 5% on the cowboy. I also used the lasso tool to select the ring on the cowboys hand then did a content fill by selecting shift F5.

Leave a Reply

